Conference Program

Thursday, May 18, 2017
8:30 – 9:00 Registration
9:00 – 9:15 Opening Remarks
9:15 – 10:15 Keynote 1

  • Challenges and Opportunities of Internet Security in Cyberspace
    Jianping Wu, Tsinghua University
10:15 – 10:50 Break & Showroom
10:50 – 11:50 Session 1: Forwarding & Scheduling (Chair: Mingwei Xu, Tsinghua University)

  • Improving Backpressure-based Adaptive Routing via Incremental Expansion of Routing Choices
    Ping Yin (University of California, San Diego)Sen Yang, Xu Jun (Georgia Institute of Technology), Jim Dai (Cornell University), Bill Lin (University of California, San Diego)
  • Using Indirect Routing to Recover from Network Traffic Scheduling Estimation Error
    Conglong LiMatthew K. Mukerjee, David G. Andersen, Srinivasan Seshan (Carnegie Mellon University)Michael Kaminsky (Intel Labs)George Porter, Alex C. Snoeren (University of California, San Diego)
12:00 – 13:15 Lunch
13:30 – 15:00 Session 2: SDN & NFV (Chair: Gaogang Xie, ICT)

  • ZeroSDN: A Highly Flexible and Modular Architecture for Full-range Network Control Distribution
    Thomas Kohler, Frank DürrKurt Rothermel (University of Stuttgart) 
  • BPFabric: Data Plane Programmability for Software Defined Networks
    Simon Jouet, Dimitrios P. Pezaros (University of Glasgow) 
  • Designing Virtual Network Functions for 100 GbE Network Using Multicore Processors
    Peilong Li, Xiaoban Wu, Yongyi Ran, Yan Luo (University of Massachusetts Lowell)
15:00 – 15:15 Break
15:15 – 16:45 Session 3: NDN & ICN (Chair: Dan Li, Tsinghua University)

  • Enhancing Scalable Name-Based Forwarding
    Haowei Yuan, Patrick Crowley (Washington University in St. Louis), Tian Song (Beijing Institute of Technology)
  • Controlling Strategy Retransmissions in Named Data Networking
    Hila Ben Abraham, Patrick Crowley (Washington University in St. Louis) 
  • On Incremental Deployment of Named Data Networking in Local Area Networks
    Hao Wu (Tsinghua University), Junxiao Shi (The University of Arizona), Yaxuan Wang (Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications), Yilun Wang (Tsinghua University), Gong Zhang (Huawei), Yi Wang (Huawei), Bin Liu (Tsinghua University), Beichuan Zhang (The University of Arizona)
16:45 – 17:45 Poster Session 

  • OpenSched: Programmable Packet Queuing and Scheduling for Centralized QoS Control
    Tian Pan, Tao Huang, Jianwei Mao, Cong Li, Yunjie Liu (BUPT)
  • Rule Compilation in Multi-Tenant Networks
    Khalil Blaiech, Salaheddine Hamadi (UQAM, Montreal), Stefan Hommes, Petko Valtchev, Omar Cherkaoui, Radu State (University of Luxembourg)
  • Virtual Network Embedding in Hybrid Data Center Networks with Wireless Links
    Zhenhua Li, Yuanyuan Yang (Stony Brook University)
  • Building Fast but Flexible Software Routers
    Sebastian Gallenmüller, Paul Emmerich, Rainer Schönberger, Daniel Raumer, Georg Carle (Technical University of Munich)
  • CODIS: A New Compression Scheme for Bitmap Indexes
    Wenxun Zheng, Yin Liu, Zhen Chen, Junwei Cao (Tsinghua Unversity)
  • On the Latency Benefits of Edge NFV
    Richard Cziva, Dimitrios P Pezaros (University of Glasgow)
  • P5: Programmable Parsers with Packet-level Parallel Processing for FPGA-based Switches
    Junnan Li, Zhigang Sun, Biao Han (National University of Defense Technology)
18:00 Reception

Friday, May 19, 2017

8:30 – 9:00 Registration
9:00 – 10:00 Keynote 2

  • Recent Advances in Machine Learning and Their Application to Networking
    David Meyer, Brocade Communications Systems, Inc.
10:00 – 10:15 Break
10:15 – 11:45 Session 4: Security (Chair: Tian Song, Beijing Institute of Technology)

  • An Attack-Resilient Source Authentication Protocol in Controller Area Network
    Ki-Dong Kang, Youngmi Baek, Seonghun Lee, Sang Hyuk Son (DGIST)
  • Time Pattern Analysis of Malware by Circular Statistics
    Liuxuan Pan, Allan Tomlinson, Alexey A. Koloydenko (Royal Holloway, University of London)
  • Detecting Remote Access Trojans through External Control at Area Network Borders
    Shuang Wu, Shengli Liu, Wei Lin, Xing Zhao, Shi Chen (State key Laboratory of Mathematical Engineering and Advanced Computing)
12:20 – 13:15 Lunch
13:30 – 15:00 Session 5: Algorithms, Modeling and Evaluation (I) (Chair: Chengchen Hu, Xi’an Jiaotong University)
  • RwHash: Rewritable Hash Table for Fast Network Processing with Dynamic Membership Updates
    Tian Song, Yating Yang (Beijing Institute of Technology), Patrick Crowley (Washington University)
  • Statistical Optimal Hash-based Longest Prefix Match
    Yi Wang (Huawei), Zhuyun Qi (Peking University), Huichen Dai (Tsinghua University), Hao Wu (Tsinghua University), Kai Lei (Peking University), Bin Liu (Tsinghua University)
  • SLIM: Enabling Transparent Extensibility and Dynamic Configuration via Session-Layer Abstractions
    Umar Kalim, Mark K. GardnerEric J. BrownWu Feng (Virginia Tech) 
15:00 – 15:15 Break 
15:15 – 16:45 Session 6: Algorithms, Modeling and Evaluation (II) (Chair: Baohua Yang, IBM Research)

  • Life on the Edge: Unraveling Policies into Configurations
    Shrutarshi Basu, Nate Foster (Cornell University)Hossein Hojjat (Rochester Institute of Technology)Paparao Palacharla (Fujitsu Labs of America)Christian Skalka (University of Vermont)Xi Wang (Fujitsu Labs of America)
  • Mind the Gap - A Comparison of Software Packet Generators
    Paul Emmerich, Sebastian Gallenmüller (Technical University of Munich), Gianni Antichi, Andrew W. Moore (University of Cambridge), Georg Carle (Technical University of Munich)
  • ClassBench-ng: Recasting ClassBench After a Decade of Network Evolution
    Jiří Matoušek (Brno University of Technology), Gianni Antichi (University of Cambridge), Adam Lučanský (CESNET), Andrew W. Moore (University of Cambridge), Jan Kořenek (Brno University of Technology) 
16:45 – 17:00 Closing Remarks